Updating TZ data for unsupported distributions

It happens. You have too old Linuxes without tzdata updates. Here is how to update your tzdata from it's source:

# mkdir /tmp/tz && cd /tmp/tz && wget -O - -q --retr-symlinks ftp://ftp.iana.org/tz/tzdata-latest.tar.gz | tar zxvf - 

This example about Israel (Asia/Jerusalem) timezone, adopt instruction to your timezone:

# cp asia /usr/share/zoneinfo/ && cd /usr/share/zoneinfo/ && zic -d `pwd` -l Asia/Jerusalem asia

Check the effective changes.

# zdump -v /etc/localtime  | grep 2014
/etc/localtime  Thu Mar 27 23:59:59 2014 UTC = Fri Mar 28 01:59:59 2014 IST isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
/etc/localtime  Fri Mar 28 00:00:00 2014 UTC = Fri Mar 28 03:00:00 2014 IDT isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
/etc/localtime  Sat Oct 25 22:59:59 2014 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:59:59 2014 IDT isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
/etc/localtime  Sat Oct 25 23:00:00 2014 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:00:00 2014 IST isdst=0 gmtoff=7200

If this was helpfull, please donate
Updated on Wed Mar 26 13:36:02 UTC 2014 by Oleg Volkov More documentations here